Advisory Council

The OurEnergyPolicy Advisory Council is made up of leading experts who are committed to the improvement of the national energy policy dialogue and who work with OurEnergyPolicy in an advisory capacity.

Marilyn Brown

Professor of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology

Marilyn A. Brown is a Brook Byers Professor of Sustainable Systems in the School of Public Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where she created and directs the Climate and Energy Policy Lab. Her research focuses on the design and modeling of energy and climate policies, with an emphasis on the electric utility industry, energy efficiency, and resources on the customer side of the meter. Since 2010, she has been a Presidential appointee to the Board of Directors of the Tennessee Valley Authority where her efforts have helped put the agency on a track to reduce its CO2 emissions in 2020 by 40% below 2005. She has authored more than 250 publications and six books. Among her honors and awards, she is a co-recipient of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize for co-authorship of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change report on Mitigation of Climate Change. She has served on eight committees of the National Academies and is in her second term on the U.S. Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisory Committee.

Wil Burns

Co-Executive Director, The Institute for Carbon Removal Law and Policy, American University

Dr. Bruce Dale

University Distinguished Professor, Michigan State University, Dept. of Chemical Engineering

Robert Grant

Director of International Public Policy and Advocacy, Global Innovation Policy Center, U.S. Chamber of Commerce

David Hammer

J.C. Ward Jr. Professor of Nuclear Energy Engineering , Cornell University

Elias Hinckley

Partner, KL Gates

Dr. Andrew C. Kadak

President, Kadak Associates, Inc.

Andrew C. Kadak is a President of Kadak Associates, Inc., a consulting firm in the nuclear field specializing in operations, advanced reactors, and executive management. He was formerly a Professor of the Practice in the Nuclear Science and Engineering Department at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His research interests include advanced reactors, nuclear safety, waste management and nuclear space applications. He presently serves on the US Nuclear Waste Technology Review board overseeing the Department of Energy's nuclear waste program. Prior to joining MIT in 1998, he was president and CEO of Yankee Atomic Electricity Company, a nuclear utility and service company to New England's nuclear plants. He was President of the American Nuclear Society from 1999 to 2000. He has a Ph.D. and Master's degree in nuclear engineering from MIT and a degree in Mechanical Engineering from Union College in Schenectady, New York.

Daniel Kammen

Distinguished Professor of Energy, University of California, Berkeley

Nathan S. Lewis

George L. Argyros Professor of Chemistry; Director, Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, California Institute of Technology

Michael S. Lubell

Professor of Physics, City College of the City University of New York

David J. Manning

Director, Stakeholder Relations/External Affairs, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Andrew Revkin

Founding Director, Initiative on Communication and Sustainability, The Earth Institute, Columbia University

Herschel Specter

President, Micro-Utilities, Inc.

Herschel is a professional engineer with over 50 years of experience in the electric power industry. After graduating from MIT and serving as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army, he started his career in physics, thermal hydraulics, and heat transfer. In 1965, he joined the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC) where he established national containment acceptance criteria. Later, as the AEC licensing manager for the Indian Point 3 (IP3) Plant, he completed its safety review, wrote the safety evaluation report, and presented his results before the Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS). This led to the licensing of this plant. He was then selected by AEC Commissioner Doub to serve at diplomat rank at the International Atomic Energy Agency in Vienna, Austria (1974-1979). He returned in 1979 to the Department of Energy where he worked on the safety of our Defense Nuclear Systems. In 1981 the New York Power Authority (NYPA) offered him the position of Manager of an adjudicatory hearing defending IP3. Later, as Technical Advisor to NYPA’s Executive Vice President, he was asked by the Department of Energy to chair a national committee on emergency planning. The final report was forwarded to Congress. He also chaired NUMARC’s Task Force on Emergency Planning. The NUMARC report (NUMARC/NESP-005) was distributed to all U.S. nuclear utilities. He was a guest lecturer at Harvard for over five years on emergency planning. In 1992 he initiated a national effort on “Risk-Based Regulation” (RBR) and presented this concept to all five NRC Commissioners at a public hearing. Risk based regulation has become the centerpiece for modernizing the nuclear regulatory process at the NRC and within the nuclear industry. He has written fundamental papers on this subject, assisted EPRI in initiating its program on risk-based regulation, appeared before national regulatory and industry groups, been a guest lecturer and invited international speaker, chaired industry committees on this subject and have been an active member on others. In 1993 he wrote the ANS Policy Statement on RBR. In addition to my RBR activities, he has published extensively on other nuclear safety issues, on the environment, and on energy policy matters. He has served on an editorial board of an international energy journal.

All statements and/or propositions in discussion prompts are meant exclusively to stimulate discussion and do not represent the views of, its Partners, Topic Directors or Experts, nor of any individual or organization. Comments by and opinions of Expert participants are their own.

Sign up for our Press Release Distribution List

    Your Name (required)

    Your Email (required)

    Please sign me up to receive press releases from